I am looking for some additional information or possibly someone who is doing the following with ZMM in a school or similar environment.

What I would like to do is to drop the Apple Configurator portion of my deployment of iPads and iPhones so that I only have to manage a single Mobile Management setup. I am having some problems with my deployment which is forcing me to take a second look at whether ZMM is mature or ready for what I am wanting to do. I have been running ZENworks for the PC for 10 years so have some experience in how to manage and force the devices to stay connected.

First I guess I should list what I am looking to do. - I would like to do a simple setup of iPads primarily with Network connection and then MDM enrollment (either by me or the end user). Then I would like to provide application deployment using Apples VPP setup. Part of my problem here is that I still need to keep ownership of the apps. I had to deploy Apple Configurator in the past to accomplish this. With the new VPP setup and ZMM 2.8.0 having an ability to remove VPP codes I am hopeful that I can get closer to my goal.