PDA

View Full Version : Workstation Testing



Blinky Bill
22-Jun-2007, 05:28 AM
As I mentioned before we are moving office.

I am looking for some software (yes free is best) that will test the
connections from each workstation. The electrician who did the cabling
tested the ports before securing them into the workstations so that any
faults would be easier to rectify, however then when securing the
outlets bent the cable to get them into the cable tray :-(

Idealy what I would like is something that would ask what port number,
then record the results, then I enter the next port number etc..

I know I am probably asking a lot, and I am willing to pay for the
right product.

Any suggestions? (I do not have the DVD, I will download it over the
weekend)

Blinky Bill

--

Dave Taylor
22-Jun-2007, 10:25 AM
"Blinky Bill" <koala@gumtree.com.au> wrote in news:deIei.300$Rg7.125@prv-
forum2.provo.novell.com:

> Any suggestions? (I do not have the DVD, I will download it over the
> weekend)

Use the managed switch snmp traps to tell you about errors? OR call back
the installer and say his testing is not normal, and retest and CERTIFY.

Personally, I think you are wasting time. Plug it all in and shake the
rack and pull on the cables, no link lights blink, you're done. ( only
sorta kidding)
I mean I have seen some really dodgy cables work fine.

--
Ciao, Dave

Timothy Leerhoff
22-Jun-2007, 12:57 PM
To actually do testing you will need a real cable tester. This is a
dual ended setup to fully test every wire.

You can rent these. I would also get a pair of decent radios so you
can communicate with the person on the other end.

Last time I pulled cable (Cat3 was the oooo/ahhhh cable at the time)
the good testers ran $4000, they are less now, but not $150....

--
Timothy Leerhoff
Novell Support Forum Sysop

Blinky Bill
22-Jun-2007, 02:28 PM
It may work fine, but as you say we paid a premium to have CAT6
installed, and we want to run video to the desktop

Blinky Bill
22-Jun-2007, 02:29 PM
Timothy Leerhoff wrote:

> To actually do testing you will need a real cable tester. This is a
> dual ended setup to fully test every wire.
>
> You can rent these. I would also get a pair of decent radios so you
> can communicate with the person on the other end.
>
> Last time I pulled cable (Cat3 was the oooo/ahhhh cable at the time)
> the good testers ran $4000, they are less now, but not $150....

Cheers Timothy,

I thought that may be the case. Will a good tester do speed as well as
pairs?

--

Stevo
22-Jun-2007, 03:01 PM
Timothy Leerhoff scribbled something like:

> You can rent these. I would also get a pair of decent radios so you
> can communicate with the person on the other end.

We bought a high dollar Fluke tester that, w/ the right modules, will
let you talk thru the cable you're testing. <G>

George
22-Jun-2007, 07:01 PM
Blinky Bill wrote:
> As I mentioned before we are moving office.
>
> I am looking for some software (yes free is best) that will test the
> connections from each workstation. The electrician who did the cabling
> tested the ports before securing them into the workstations so that any
> faults would be easier to rectify, however then when securing the
> outlets bent the cable to get them into the cable tray :-(
>
> Idealy what I would like is something that would ask what port number,
> then record the results, then I enter the next port number etc..
>
> I know I am probably asking a lot, and I am willing to pay for the
> right product.
>
> Any suggestions? (I do not have the DVD, I will download it over the
> weekend)
>
> Blinky Bill
>
You normally have the installer use their test equipment to certify the
cabling to whatever spec was used for the wiring. Then they give you the
information that their meter recorded.

Sewermonger
22-Jun-2007, 07:14 PM
When I get done with the update, I'll send you a copy but ya gotta send
me your snail mail addy



--
Rock Concert Movement #237 Taking the audience on a Jungian journey
into the collective unconscious by using the shadow as a metaphor for
the primal self that gets repressed by the modern persona and also by
using an underground setting and labyrinth office design to represent
both the depths of the psyche and the dungeon-like isolation of our
increasingly mechanistic society which prevents people from finding
satisfying work or meaningful connections with others.
Blue Man Group

Timothy Leerhoff
23-Jun-2007, 02:04 AM
Yes some do. If you get the $150 special purchase price one you will
get the wires are punched down correctly. Maybe a little on line
noise, but not much more.

The Fluke I used ran $4k for the testing pair. Ran speed, noise,
crossed pairs, and more then printing out reports on all connections.

If you get one that will certify the cables at cat6+ level you can do
most speeds you will use.

--
Timothy Leerhoff
Novell Support Forum Sysop

Brent Wolfe
23-Jun-2007, 04:27 AM
http://www.flukenetworks.com/fnet/en-us/products/NetTool/Overview.htm?currentcategorycode=INET&PID=50018&categorycode=LANT

--
Brent

"Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving
safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in
sideways, chocolate in one hand, martini in the other, body thoroughly used
up, totally worn out and screaming "WOO HOO what a ride!"


"Blinky Bill" <koala@gumtree.com.au> wrote in message
news:deIei.300$Rg7.125@prv-forum2.provo.novell.com...
> As I mentioned before we are moving office.
>
> I am looking for some software (yes free is best) that will test the
> connections from each workstation. The electrician who did the cabling
> tested the ports before securing them into the workstations so that any
> faults would be easier to rectify, however then when securing the
> outlets bent the cable to get them into the cable tray :-(
>
> Idealy what I would like is something that would ask what port number,
> then record the results, then I enter the next port number etc..
>
> I know I am probably asking a lot, and I am willing to pay for the
> right product.
>
> Any suggestions? (I do not have the DVD, I will download it over the
> weekend)
>
> Blinky Bill
>
> --
>

Blinky Bill
23-Jun-2007, 06:52 AM
George wrote:

> Blinky Bill wrote:
> > As I mentioned before we are moving office.
> >
> > I am looking for some software (yes free is best) that will test the
> > connections from each workstation. The electrician who did the
> > cabling tested the ports before securing them into the workstations
> > so that any faults would be easier to rectify, however then when
> > securing the outlets bent the cable to get them into the cable tray
> > :-(
> >
> > Idealy what I would like is something that would ask what port
> > number, then record the results, then I enter the next port number
> > etc..
> >
> > I know I am probably asking a lot, and I am willing to pay for the
> > right product.
> >
> > Any suggestions? (I do not have the DVD, I will download it over the
> > weekend)
> >
> > Blinky Bill
> >
> You normally have the installer use their test equipment to certify
> the cabling to whatever spec was used for the wiring. Then they give
> you the information that their meter recorded.

In this case their testing was done prior to placing the jacks in the
wall.

--

Blinky Bill
23-Jun-2007, 06:53 AM
Brent Wolfe wrote:

> http://www.flukenetworks.com/fnet/en-us/products/NetTool/Overview.htm?
> currentcategorycode=INET&PID=50018&categorycode=LANT

Thanks

--

Blinky Bill
23-Jun-2007, 06:54 AM
Sewermonger wrote:

> When I get done with the update, I'll send you a copy but ya gotta
> send me your snail mail addy

Thanks Felton, I will download it from the FTP site.

--

Dave Taylor
24-Jun-2007, 06:01 AM
"Blinky Bill" <koala@gumtree.com.au> wrote in news:oy2fi.840$Rg7.212@prv-
forum2.provo.novell.com:

> n this case their testing was done prior to placing the jacks in the
> wall.

Make them do it again!

--
Ciao, Dave

Blinky Bill
24-Jun-2007, 11:27 AM
Dave Taylor wrote:

> "Blinky Bill" <koala@gumtree.com.au> wrote in
> news:oy2fi.840$Rg7.212@prv- forum2.provo.novell.com:
>
> > n this case their testing was done prior to placing the jacks in the
> > wall.
>
> Make them do it again!

Just do not trust them :-(

If you want something done right you have to do it yourself.

--

Dave Taylor
24-Jun-2007, 12:28 PM
"Blinky Bill" <koala@gumtree.com.au> wrote in news:HGrfi.1114$Rg7.253@prv-
forum2.provo.novell.com:

>
> If you want something done right you have to do it yourself.
>

I guess you can rent a high quality tester then. Or have a 3rd party
recertify the runs with their expensive tester. Most cable pullers have
one or know someone who does.

--
Ciao, Dave

Lee Garner
24-Jun-2007, 09:38 PM
Blinky Bill wrote:
>
> I thought that may be the case. Will a good tester do speed as well as
> pairs?
>

Yep. It'll tell you the effective speed, ping latency, attenuation,
length, and where along the cable length a problem lies.

If it's just speed you're after, there's a program called "speedtest" or
something like that that measures file transfer speed between a server
and client. Sort of a LAN version of DSLreports.

Blinky Bill
25-Jun-2007, 06:33 AM
Lee Garner wrote:

> Blinky Bill wrote:
> >
> > I thought that may be the case. Will a good tester do speed as well
> > as pairs?
> >
>
> Yep. It'll tell you the effective speed, ping latency, attenuation,
> length, and where along the cable length a problem lies.
>
> If it's just speed you're after, there's a program called "speedtest"
> or something like that that measures file transfer speed between a
> server and client. Sort of a LAN version of DSLreports.

Thanks, going with a fluke

--