PDA

View Full Version : 4 T-1's EVERYWHERE!



Tim Wohlford
28-Jun-2007, 05:56 PM
My 3-user client was approached by the local Comcast cable Internet rep.
The rep said that, for the same price as their current service, he could
offer them "6 megabits which is a lot faster than what you're using."

First, the Comcast guy forgot to throw in the cost for a static IP as well
as domain and Web page hosting. Suddenly, the cost comparison wasn't so
equal.

Second, this sales guy maintained that every Comcast user would have 6
megabits "everywhere". Some of the conversation:

Me - Where are you getting this connection speed?

Rep - EVERYWHERE! I use a utility, and I get 6 megabits every time I try
it!

Me - Where is the server that you're pinging?

Rep - In my office! And every customer gets that speed!

Me - Well, what happens when you go out to the Internet?

Rep - They get 6 megabits! Everywhere! It's soooo fast!

Me - I have no doubt that your customers get 6 megs to your office.
However, are you telling me that they get 6 megs from, say, Yahoo! or M$?

Rep - YES! They get 6 megabits everywhere!

And so it went. I asked about the guy's credentials, and he claimed that he
didn't need any since "I've been doing this for 15 years" and he was "over
the entire state".

I suppose that this means that our LAN users get 100 MB/sec when they're
attached to the LAN?

Tim Wohlford

Jay Calderwood
28-Jun-2007, 06:08 PM
Tim Wohlford,

I get 8mb at home... So that comcast guy lied to you!!!!!

!@#$ bottlenecks... They don't exist.


--
Jay Calderwood
http://jaycalderwood.blogspot.com

Quote: "I'm alive... I think... Then again can it get any worse? Yes it
can...
There is this one place...really down south that starts with an 'H' and ends
with an 'L' that is really HOT..."

Craig
28-Jun-2007, 06:13 PM
I guess that's always the case though, eh? I have 2 big pipes in SF (one 8,
another 10MB) but Novell download are slow on either! :)

Isn't hi-speed to the CO the best you can do?


"Tim Wohlford" <geek49203@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:JKRgi.661$8i6.649@prv-forum2.provo.novell.com...
> My 3-user client was approached by the local Comcast cable Internet rep.
> The rep said that, for the same price as their current service, he could
> offer them "6 megabits which is a lot faster than what you're using."
>
> First, the Comcast guy forgot to throw in the cost for a static IP as well
> as domain and Web page hosting. Suddenly, the cost comparison wasn't so
> equal.
>
> Second, this sales guy maintained that every Comcast user would have 6
> megabits "everywhere". Some of the conversation:
>
> Me - Where are you getting this connection speed?
>
> Rep - EVERYWHERE! I use a utility, and I get 6 megabits every time I try
> it!
>
> Me - Where is the server that you're pinging?
>
> Rep - In my office! And every customer gets that speed!
>
> Me - Well, what happens when you go out to the Internet?
>
> Rep - They get 6 megabits! Everywhere! It's soooo fast!
>
> Me - I have no doubt that your customers get 6 megs to your office.
> However, are you telling me that they get 6 megs from, say, Yahoo! or M$?
>
> Rep - YES! They get 6 megabits everywhere!
>
> And so it went. I asked about the guy's credentials, and he claimed that
> he didn't need any since "I've been doing this for 15 years" and he was
> "over the entire state".
>
> I suppose that this means that our LAN users get 100 MB/sec when they're
> attached to the LAN?
>
> Tim Wohlford
>
>
>

Joseph Marton
28-Jun-2007, 06:20 PM
On Thu, 28 Jun 2007 16:56:09 +0000, Tim Wohlford wrote:

> My 3-user client was approached by the local Comcast cable Internet rep.

Whenever they call I tend to shut them up pretty quickly once I tell them
we have a DS3. Well, except for the one time the person didn't know what
that was. Then when I said "it's about 30x faster than a T1" that got
them off the phone pretty quickly.

--
Joe
"Mostly me, mostly you."

G of Borg
28-Jun-2007, 06:28 PM
Jay Calderwood wrote:

> Tim Wohlford,
>
> I get 8mb at home... So that comcast guy lied to you!!!!!

I average around 200mb and that is with their 'premier' service.
It is fast, but not THAT fast. It might be a 6Megabit pipe but that doesn't
mean you get exclusive rights to it...it is a shared medium and even with
traffic prioritization you're not likely to ever reach the theoretical
limit of what they offer. Great sales guy though. :)

Craig
28-Jun-2007, 06:52 PM
I tell them I have a Zx24. When they ask me what that is I say I don't
know.


"Joseph Marton" <jmartonNO@SPAMhsemuni.com> wrote in message
news:pan.2007.06.28.17.21.51.218690@SPAMhsemuni.co m...
> On Thu, 28 Jun 2007 16:56:09 +0000, Tim Wohlford wrote:
>
>> My 3-user client was approached by the local Comcast cable Internet rep.
>
> Whenever they call I tend to shut them up pretty quickly once I tell them
> we have a DS3. Well, except for the one time the person didn't know what
> that was. Then when I said "it's about 30x faster than a T1" that got
> them off the phone pretty quickly.
>
> --
> Joe
> "Mostly me, mostly you."
>

Mary Matthews
28-Jun-2007, 07:21 PM
By any chance is he related to Tim Grocki? >:>

Doug
28-Jun-2007, 09:11 PM
Tim Wohlford wrote:

> My 3-user client was approached by the local Comcast cable Internet rep.
> The rep said that, for the same price as their current service, he could
> offer them "6 megabits which is a lot faster than what you're using."

My Cable/Fiber from Time Warner uses Layer 2 not 3.

As long as you stay on their back bone you scream.

I can get <3ms ping times with one hope count 2 states away it I stay on a
RR.net domain.

Doug

Tim Wohlford
28-Jun-2007, 10:19 PM
Craig --

My Novell downloads have been slow for years. Each time, the Novell
webmasters claim they've never heard of anyone but me having a slow
download, and they ask for screen shots (?!??).

The Web page, and presumably the download servers, are controlled by the
legendary Novell marketing dept.

Tim Wohlford


"Craig" <tech@no-spam.novoco.com> wrote in message
news:e%Rgi.676$8i6.482@prv-forum2.provo.novell.com...
>I guess that's always the case though, eh? I have 2 big pipes in SF (one
>8, another 10MB) but Novell download are slow on either! :)
>
> Isn't hi-speed to the CO the best you can do?
>
>

Craig
28-Jun-2007, 10:45 PM
Ha! Well, I figure most sites have a way to provision so guys who have a
lotta bandwidth don't use all of theirs up.

Just my thought.


"Tim Wohlford" <geek49203@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:yBVgi.831$8i6.371@prv-forum2.provo.novell.com...
> Craig --
>
> My Novell downloads have been slow for years. Each time, the Novell
> webmasters claim they've never heard of anyone but me having a slow
> download, and they ask for screen shots (?!??).
>
> The Web page, and presumably the download servers, are controlled by the
> legendary Novell marketing dept.
>
> Tim Wohlford
>
>
> "Craig" <tech@no-spam.novoco.com> wrote in message
> news:e%Rgi.676$8i6.482@prv-forum2.provo.novell.com...
>>I guess that's always the case though, eh? I have 2 big pipes in SF (one
>>8, another 10MB) but Novell download are slow on either! :)
>>
>> Isn't hi-speed to the CO the best you can do?
>>
>>
>
>

Tim Wohlford
28-Jun-2007, 11:10 PM
I can open up 3-4 downloads from Novell, and each tops out at the same
speed.

Yeah, bandwidth is throttled. Worse yet, the more popular (urgent?) the
download (GW7's recent hot patch, for instance), the tighter the controls.

AT some point, you just give up on anyone fixing it.

Tim



"Craig" <tech@no-spam.novoco.com> wrote in message
news:GZVgi.839$8i6.436@prv-forum2.provo.novell.com...
> Ha! Well, I figure most sites have a way to provision so guys who have a
> lotta bandwidth don't use all of theirs up.
>
> Just my thought.
>
>
> "Tim Wohlford" <geek49203@hotmail.com> wrote in message
> news:yBVgi.831$8i6.371@prv-forum2.provo.novell.com...
>> Craig --
>>
>> My Novell downloads have been slow for years. Each time, the Novell
>> webmasters claim they've never heard of anyone but me having a slow
>> download, and they ask for screen shots (?!??).
>>
>> The Web page, and presumably the download servers, are controlled by the
>> legendary Novell marketing dept.
>>
>> Tim Wohlford
>>
>>
>> "Craig" <tech@no-spam.novoco.com> wrote in message
>> news:e%Rgi.676$8i6.482@prv-forum2.provo.novell.com...
>>>I guess that's always the case though, eh? I have 2 big pipes in SF (one
>>>8, another 10MB) but Novell download are slow on either! :)
>>>
>>> Isn't hi-speed to the CO the best you can do?
>>>
>>>
>>
>>
>
>

Tim Wohlford
28-Jun-2007, 11:11 PM
No, this guy returned my phone call. Definitely not related.

Tim


"Mary Matthews" <mlm23NO@SPAMcalvin.edu> wrote in message
news:4683C42B.F781.00FC.0@SPAMcalvin.edu...
> By any chance is he related to Tim Grocki? >:>

Patrick Farrell
29-Jun-2007, 05:31 AM
Tim Wohlford wrote:
> My 3-user client was approached by the local Comcast cable Internet rep.
> The rep said that, for the same price as their current service, he could
> offer them "6 megabits which is a lot faster than what you're using."
>
> First, the Comcast guy forgot to throw in the cost for a static IP as well
> as domain and Web page hosting. Suddenly, the cost comparison wasn't so
> equal.
>
> Second, this sales guy maintained that every Comcast user would have 6
> megabits "everywhere". Some of the conversation:
>
> Me - Where are you getting this connection speed?
>
> Rep - EVERYWHERE! I use a utility, and I get 6 megabits every time I try
> it!
>
> Me - Where is the server that you're pinging?
>
> Rep - In my office! And every customer gets that speed!
>
> Me - Well, what happens when you go out to the Internet?
>
> Rep - They get 6 megabits! Everywhere! It's soooo fast!
>
> Me - I have no doubt that your customers get 6 megs to your office.
> However, are you telling me that they get 6 megs from, say, Yahoo! or M$?
>
> Rep - YES! They get 6 megabits everywhere!
>
> And so it went. I asked about the guy's credentials, and he claimed that he
> didn't need any since "I've been doing this for 15 years" and he was "over
> the entire state".
>
> I suppose that this means that our LAN users get 100 MB/sec when they're
> attached to the LAN?
>
> Tim Wohlford
>
>
>

That's download speeds. What's the upload speed?

Dave Taylor
29-Jun-2007, 12:33 PM
Doug <rdmallory@myrealb0x.c0m> wrote in
news:FBUgi.785$8i6.247@prv-forum2.provo.novell.com:

> My Cable/Fiber from Time Warner uses Layer 2 not 3.
>
> As long as you stay on their back bone you scream.
>
> I can get <3ms ping times with one hope count 2 states away it I stay
> on a RR.net domain.
>
> Doug
>

Sweet!

I hear of gamers in NZ on some wireless gear getting 1500 ms pings. That
must be unplayable, which I guess is why they were complaining.

--
Ciao, Dave

George
29-Jun-2007, 12:46 PM
Tim Wohlford wrote:
> My 3-user client was approached by the local Comcast cable Internet rep.
> The rep said that, for the same price as their current service, he could
> offer them "6 megabits which is a lot faster than what you're using."


They also forget to mention that it isn't symmetrical. And they have a
new feature called "Powerboost" which allows bursting on about the first
Mb of an upload and 10 Mb of a download. For some reason that seems to
highly skew speed tests...

George
29-Jun-2007, 12:51 PM
Patrick Farrell wrote:
>
>
> That's download speeds. What's the upload speed?

Around here it is 6000/768. The fastest they will provision (here) is
8000/1000.

George
29-Jun-2007, 01:03 PM
Tim Wohlford wrote:
> My 3-user client was approached by the local Comcast cable Internet rep.
> The rep said that, for the same price as their current service, he could
> offer them "6 megabits which is a lot faster than what you're using."
>
>
You may also want to ask them why it takes over 24 hours to fix errors
in their provisioning system. I have had 2 cases where records were lost
on a business account. In one case it took 3 hours of reading the modem
MAC to CS before I got someone who had an idea what it actually was.
Then they announced that it needed to be sent to another department and
would take 24 hours. It actually took over 24 hours for them to simply
enter the correct MAC into the provisioning system. One another case the
clients connectivity was lost. I called and after a long ordeal they
decided that the "rate code" was incorrect. This would also take 24
hours to fix. Both cases did not involve a truck roll and were things
that should have been fixed with a couple taps on the keyboard.

Their CS seems to be 1 or 2 centers which are staffed with people who
know something and numerous contract centers staffed by people who might
be switching from taking orders for the newest exercise machine to
answering service calls for this cable company. Not saying anything
about the centers because I am sure that is what is being paid for. The
net result is that you are talking to someone who has no idea what you
are calling about and always needs to put you on hold to "ask someone"

G of Borg
29-Jun-2007, 01:41 PM
> AT some point, you just give up on anyone fixing it.

You assume someone there thinks it's broken. <g>

Blinky Bill
29-Jun-2007, 01:47 PM
George wrote:

> The net result is that you are talking to someone who has no idea
> what you are calling about and always needs to put you on hold to
> "ask someone"

They read from a script, if the script won't fix it then they have
nowhere to go.

I employed one of these 'techncians' who could not handle the fact that
we didn't have scripts (2 IT guys in a 150 user office). They lasted a
couple of weeks before we suggested that it may be better for them to
start looking.

--

Tim Wohlford
29-Jun-2007, 01:53 PM
George --

At one time, Comcast's service was soooo bad that our local 50k watt AM
radiostation (heard in about a dozen states and 2-3 provinces) had callin
shows to complain. Let's just say that I hope the VP who answered those
calls on the air was the same person who made the silly decisions that lead
to that point.

Comcast is better now, but they still aren't providing a 6000 kb link
between me and, say, Novell.com. Sadly, their sales reps are too stupid to
know that they are lying (isn't that a joke, something about the difference
between sales and marketing?).


Tim







"George" <George@nospam.invalid> wrote in message
news:My6hi.1033$8i6.245@prv-forum2.provo.novell.com...
> Tim Wohlford wrote:
>> My 3-user client was approached by the local Comcast cable Internet rep.
>> The rep said that, for the same price as their current service, he could
>> offer them "6 megabits which is a lot faster than what you're using."
>>
> You may also want to ask them why it takes over 24 hours to fix errors in
> their provisioning system. I have had 2 cases where records were lost on a
> business account. In one case it took 3 hours of reading the modem MAC to
> CS before I got someone who had an idea what it actually was. Then they
> announced that it needed to be sent to another department and would take
> 24 hours. It actually took over 24 hours for them to simply enter the
> correct MAC into the provisioning system. One another case the clients
> connectivity was lost. I called and after a long ordeal they decided that
> the "rate code" was incorrect. This would also take 24 hours to fix. Both
> cases did not involve a truck roll and were things that should have been
> fixed with a couple taps on the keyboard.
>
> Their CS seems to be 1 or 2 centers which are staffed with people who know
> something and numerous contract centers staffed by people who might be
> switching from taking orders for the newest exercise machine to answering
> service calls for this cable company. Not saying anything about the
> centers because I am sure that is what is being paid for. The net result
> is that you are talking to someone who has no idea what you are calling
> about and always needs to put you on hold to "ask someone"

George
29-Jun-2007, 02:04 PM
Blinky Bill wrote:
> George wrote:
>
>> The net result is that you are talking to someone who has no idea
>> what you are calling about and always needs to put you on hold to
>> "ask someone"
>
> They read from a script, if the script won't fix it then they have
> nowhere to go.
>
> I employed one of these 'techncians' who could not handle the fact that
> we didn't have scripts (2 IT guys in a 150 user office). They lasted a
> couple of weeks before we suggested that it may be better for them to
> start looking.
>

Yes, and that leads to interesting support calls:

Me: I am here at a client and they have no connectivity and I can see
that the modem has lost block sync. I power cycled it and checked the
connections and it is still trying to retrain.

CS: I am happy to help you sir, can you tell me what operating system
you are using?

Truth or lie

Truth Me: Its a Zywall router that is also a VPN endpoint

CS: Sir, we cannot help you if any routers are used. You will need to
disconnect that.

Me: You do understand that loss of block sync has nothing to do with
what is connected to the modem since it involves the connection your
side of the modem and your equipment and means that the modem can't see
your head end equipment.

CS: let me ask someone


Lie: Me: Its Windows

CS: Sir, can I ask you to reboot your computer.

Blinky Bill
29-Jun-2007, 02:08 PM
LOL, gee that sort of call doesn't sound familiar :-)

--

Mary Matthews
29-Jun-2007, 03:42 PM
ROFL!!

Craig
29-Jun-2007, 10:52 PM
I had a wireless router go bad not that long ago (Netgear), the copper
switch part had failed (no links, no switching, no nuthin')

I called TS and they said, "Open a browser to HTTP://192......" ...I said,
"That won't work, there is no connectivity"
TS: " I see...in that case....Go to a dos prompt and type 'ipconfig'".
I said, "It wont work..there is no media connection"
Long hold
"Sir, you will need to take it back to where you purchased it"
ME: "That's what I thunk"


"George" <George@nospam.invalid> wrote in message
news:tr7hi.1073$8i6.477@prv-forum2.provo.novell.com...
> Blinky Bill wrote:
>> George wrote:
>>
>>> The net result is that you are talking to someone who has no idea
>>> what you are calling about and always needs to put you on hold to
>>> "ask someone"
>>
>> They read from a script, if the script won't fix it then they have
>> nowhere to go.
>>
>> I employed one of these 'techncians' who could not handle the fact that
>> we didn't have scripts (2 IT guys in a 150 user office). They lasted a
>> couple of weeks before we suggested that it may be better for them to
>> start looking.
>>
>
> Yes, and that leads to interesting support calls:
>
> Me: I am here at a client and they have no connectivity and I can see that
> the modem has lost block sync. I power cycled it and checked the
> connections and it is still trying to retrain.
>
> CS: I am happy to help you sir, can you tell me what operating system you
> are using?
>
> Truth or lie
>
> Truth Me: Its a Zywall router that is also a VPN endpoint
>
> CS: Sir, we cannot help you if any routers are used. You will need to
> disconnect that.
>
> Me: You do understand that loss of block sync has nothing to do with what
> is connected to the modem since it involves the connection your side of
> the modem and your equipment and means that the modem can't see your head
> end equipment.
>
> CS: let me ask someone
>
>
> Lie: Me: Its Windows
>
> CS: Sir, can I ask you to reboot your computer.