During deployment the computer is renamed while logged in as a normal
standard user in our environment.

Normal users cannot rename objects it appears.

New objects are created using the workstation name, plus the guid is added.

anyone else experience this ?

Also there is no workstation removal policy ? I think I may have quite
a few workstations in ZCM after a very short while.