Running GW8HP1 on WinXP PRO SP3. If I open a posted appointment, task, or
note, and then don't touch anything, the POST button is available (not
greyed out) as if I had changed something. Indeed if I now try to close the
item, it's warning me to save/cancel.

Do you get the same?

This is a pain and confusing for the user, not to mention they'll get into
the habit of not saving for tasks/notes that they just refer to, and then
one day not save one that they really changed.