I'm assuming this setting should save all user data, including desktop customizations, but everything resets upon log out.

If I uncheck this as well as Volatile User, to make it a full blown Non-Volatile DLU, then all pinned icons retain.

Is this how this feature is supposed to work?

All our workstations are Win7x64 and we're on 10.3.1.