Home

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Invalid Primary Server

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Swansea University, Wales !
    Posts
    97

    Exclamation Invalid Primary Server

    We have just built a Zen 11 server and the install seemed to go fine. When we try to run the zenworks setup on a second server that we want to bring into the zone i get an error on the "Enter management Zone" section it comes back with the error "You must specify a primary server that has a CA role".

    Wehn we installed the First server we used internal certificates so according to the documentation the second server should just import without errors but doesnt. Any one got any ideas on this ? PS database is SQL server on a seperate server (all running windows 2008 r2)
    Fighting with managment to keep Novell over Reboot-o-soft

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire, England
    Posts
    11,841

    Re: Invalid Primary Server

    GarethWilson,

    what are you specifying here?

    --

    Shaun Pond



  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Swansea University, Wales !
    Posts
    97

    Re: Invalid Primary Server

    Sorry Sean not quite sure what you mean ?

    I am looking for some support for the error i am getting when trying to add a second server to my management zone.

    Cheers in advance

    Gareth
    Fighting with managment to keep Novell over Reboot-o-soft

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire, England
    Posts
    11,841

    Re: Invalid Primary Server

    GarethWilson,

    I see you raised a SR, Mr. impatient OK, so the IP address worked,
    there's obviously some issue with DNS, maybe something to do with
    connection suffix? Just guessing...

    --

    Shaun Pond



  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Swansea University, Wales !
    Posts
    97

    Re: Invalid Primary Server

    yes i just tested using the ip address instead of the dns name and that worked :S even though if i do a lookup on the dns name i used it comes back with the ip address i used so not quite sure whats happening there
    Fighting with managment to keep Novell over Reboot-o-soft

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Swansea University, Wales !
    Posts
    97

    Re: Invalid Primary Server

    just a quick question, do you know if zenworks 11 is IP v6 aware ?
    Fighting with managment to keep Novell over Reboot-o-soft

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire, England
    Posts
    11,841

    Re: Invalid Primary Server

    GarethWilson,

    I was asking what it was that you were typing in

    --

    Shaun Pond



  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire, England
    Posts
    11,841

    Re: Invalid Primary Server

    GarethWilson,

    I think I'm safe in saying no, I've not seen anything to suggest that
    IPv6 is supported at this time

    --

    Shaun Pond



  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    30

    Re: Invalid Primary Server

    hy
    I had the same problem. With Novell Consulting and Novell Support we found:
    It seems that the DNS name is case sensitive and must fit to the certificate.
    e.g. SERVER1.novell.de works for me, server1.novell.de works not

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire, England
    Posts
    11,841

    Re: Invalid Primary Server

    Ghuebner,

    ouch - I would hope someone got the docs updated for that - do you have
    your SR #?

    --

    Shaun Pond



Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •