Home

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: ZCM conditional DLU for Win7 not working

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    355

    ZCM conditional DLU for Win7 not working

    I am able to apply DLU Policy to a Windows XP machine w/v4.91SP5 client *IF* I chose the workstation domain in the Windows tab of the advanced dialog, and *NOT* apply the DLU policy if I select the AD domain. This conditional policy relies on the following registry values:
    Code:
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Novell\ZCM\ZenLgn]
    "DomainLogin"=dword:0000000?
    If I choose to login to the Domain, DomainLogin=1 and thus the DLU policy does *NOT* apply; alternatively, if I login to the workstation instead of the domain, DomainLogin=0 and thus the DLU policy *DOES* apply. This is working as designed and is wonderful.

    However, this same policy for a Windows 7 machine w/Novell Client v2 SP2 (IR1) does not work; the DLU policy is applied whether I login to the domain or not. I note that the dependent registry key noted above does not exist on Windows 7. Even if I manually create the key/values, they do not get populated accordingly, allowing me to have the condition DLU policy.

    Given the path of the registry key, I assume these values are the ZCM Agent's responsibility. However, since both the WinXP and Win7 machines have the same ZCM agent, but different Novell clients, it suggests it's the Novell client that should be modifying these values. However, it seems unlikely that the Novell client would have anything to do with a registry key under Novell\ZCM\ZenLgn.

    So, either there is a bug in the Novell client, ZCM client, or I am missing some required configuration/registry entry for my Win7 machines. I'm desparate to get this working.

    ZCM 11.1 SP1 (Agent v11.1.0.12959)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire, England
    Posts
    16,926

    Re: ZCM conditional DLU for Win7 not working

    Bkeadle,

    TID 7009785

    --

    Shaun Pond



  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    6,835

    Re: ZCM conditional DLU for Win7 not working

    For Some reason that TID is not viewable publicly, though it appears to
    be flagged public.

    In short, it's fixed in 10.3.4 and a patch should be obtainable via an
    SR for 11.1 if you reference defect#702726.

    On 3/1/2012 6:06 AM, Shaun Pond wrote:
    > Bkeadle,
    >
    > TID 7009785
    >



    --
    Craig Wilson - MCNE, MCSE, CCNA
    Novell Knowledge Partner

    Novell does not officially monitor these forums.

    Suggestions/Opinions/Statements made by me are solely my own.
    These thoughts may not be shared by either Novell or any rational human.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire, England
    Posts
    16,926

    Re: ZCM conditional DLU for Win7 not working

    Craig,

    oops - the reason it's not viewable is that the author hasn't published
    it, stupid me for not noticing. I asked him for some changes today, so
    hopefully he'll do that and publish it, but as you say, the fix is in
    10.3.4, and should also be in 11.2

    --

    Shaun Pond



  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    355

    Re: ZCM conditional DLU for Win7 not working

    Thanks Shaun -

    I received the ZenNotify.dll FTF and it *might* be fixed - I see it is updating the registry key - but now having a problem with the Novell client V2 SP2 (IR1) it seems. It will not let me keep my workstation selection in the From drop-down box of the Windows tab - it forces it to the domain selection, thus I always login to the domain, unable to choose to login to the local workstation instead fo the domain - I in effect don't have a choice of logging into the workstation and have ZCM DLU policy apply.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire, England
    Posts
    16,926

    Re: ZCM conditional DLU for Win7 not working

    Bkeadle,

    seems like a client bug at first sight, worth trying IR2 on one
    workstation before raising a SR I think

    --

    Shaun Pond



  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    355

    Re: ZCM conditional DLU for Win7 not working

    Quote Originally Posted by spond View Post
    Bkeadle,

    seems like a client bug at first sight, worth trying IR2 on one
    workstation before raising a SR I think

    --

    Shaun Pond
    I only see IR1 available for download, from Feb 3rd.

    BTW: I have an SR open already, in fact 2 - one with the Zenworks Team, the other with the Client team. I agree, I think it's now a client issue. I wonder if the Client team could walk across the hall and talk to the Zenworks team and get this sorted out? :-)
    Last edited by bkeadle; 05-Mar-2012 at 05:58 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    355

    Re: ZCM conditional DLU for Win7 not working

    OK, the ball is back in the Zenworks team's court. I understand now that the Novell Client v2 behaves differently than v4.9. But there is a workable solution - I must create 2 different System Login Profiles, one for the domain, one for the workstation, then enable that for the client login. I am now able to select between Domain or Workstation login, and the client does this correctly, however, the ZCM agent apparently thinks I'm logging into the domain, even though I have logged into the workstation. I've confirmed that the ZCM agent is updating the DomainLogin registry key by manually setting it to 0, then logging back in with "Workstation Profile" setting. I get prompted for my local user credentials (DLU not applied), and see that the DomainLogin registry value has been changed to 1.

    So what does ZCM rely on to determine whether the workstation has logged into the Domain or not?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire, England
    Posts
    16,926

    Re: ZCM conditional DLU for Win7 not working

    Bkeadle,

    > OK, the ball is back in the Zenworks team's court.


    sure - the fix should be in 11.2, but for the moment, if you raise a SR
    and tell them it's bug 702726 you should be able to get a test patch

    --

    Shaun Pond



  10. #10
    Mirko Guldner NNTP User

    Re: ZCM conditional DLU for Win7 not working


    Might this probleme be related to our "DLU, Excluded/Included Users List"-
    problem, some postings earlier? (We have an SR open, but no feedback from
    Novell)

    Thanks,
    Mirko

    Shaun Pond wrote:

    > Bkeadle,
    >
    >> OK, the ball is back in the Zenworks team's court.

    >
    > sure - the fix should be in 11.2, but for the moment, if you raise a SR
    > and tell them it's bug 702726 you should be able to get a test patch
    >



Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •