Home

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Is it possible to manually install and configue a POA?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    227

    Is it possible to manually install and configue a POA?

    We had a major system melt-down last night which resulted in the OES server requiring filesystem repairs (running on EXT3).
    The result of the file system repair was a number of missing files, including several userxxx.db files.
    I forced the system to recreate the missing userxxx.db files, but now I need to restore their content.

    Tech support suggested that I restore the system from my latest backup tapes to a different server, then install and configure a POA to run against the restored system.
    The lack of a MTA prevents delivery attempts and users can point their client to the second POA, archive desired content to their local drive, reconnect to the production server and unarchive to their production accounts.

    Unfortunately, I can not discover a way to install the POA without running the main installation process.
    I can install and configure a GW 2012 POA, but to my knowledge, that POA can't use the files from a 2014 system.

    Any suggestions?
    If I installed and configured a 2012 POA, would the GW 2014 installation process allow for upgrading that POA independent of any other actions?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Cologne, Germany
    Posts
    5,682

    Re: Is it possible to manually install and configue a POA?

    Am 18.03.2015 um 02:26 schrieb gathagan:
    >
    > Unfortunately, I can not discover a way to install the POA without
    > running the main installation process.
    > I can install and configure a GW 2012 POA, but to my knowledge, that POA
    > can't use the files from a 2014 system.


    I'm double confused. First, what is your perceived problem with running
    the main installation, and second, what is the story with 2012 and 2014
    here?

    CU,
    --
    Massimo Rosen
    Novell Knowledge Partner
    No emails please!
    http://www.cfc-it.de

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    227

    Re: Is it possible to manually install and configue a POA?

    Quote Originally Posted by mrosen View Post
    I'm double confused. First, what is your perceived problem with running
    the main installation, and second, what is the story with 2012 and 2014
    here?
    Unlike 2012 and earlier versions, 2014 does not allow you to install the GroupWise agents and then just configure and run a POA.
    The 2014 installation does not allow you to install and configure a POA without having a domain and MTA already present.

    I do not wish to have an MTA running on this system.
    I don't want any chance of communication between my production system and this second server, which contains the files restored from the last backup.

    Both will have the same user and message DB files contained in the same postoffice.

    Since 2012 still allows you to configure a POA without having a domain and MTA, I was wondering if one could install the 2012 agents, configure the POA without actually starting the POA, then "fool" 2014 into simply upgrading the POA without requiring the presence of a domain and MTA.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Rotterdam, NL- Originally South Africa
    Posts
    5,618

    Re: Is it possible to manually install and configue a POA?

    Hi,

    Perhaps I'm missing something fundamental in your questions, and if so I apologize in advance.

    Why don't you just setup a restore area instead of a whole "secondary" POA and recover the e-mail through the usual routes?

    https://www.novell.com/support/kb/doc.php?id=7002221

    Cheers,
    Laura Buckley

    Views/comments expressed here are entirely my own.

    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Cologne, Germany
    Posts
    5,682

    Re: Is it possible to manually install and configue a POA?

    Hi.

    Am 18.03.2015 um 08:46 schrieb gathagan:
    >
    > mrosen;2350115 Wrote:
    >> I'm double confused. First, what is your perceived problem with running
    >> the main installation, and second, what is the story with 2012 and 2014
    >> here?

    > Unlike 2012 and earlier versions, 2014 does not allow you to install the
    > GroupWise agents and then just configure and run a POA.


    Gotcha.


    > I do not wish to have an MTA running on this system.


    There's a distinct difference between "having" a MTA, and actually
    "running" it. You could configure it and the POA, and then simply don't
    run the MTA?!

    > I don't want any chance of communication between my production system
    > and this second server, which contains the files restored from the last
    > backup.


    Note that a POA comunicates directly with the MTA. When you restore a
    POA while the MTA for the "live" POA is running on a different server,
    you're asking for severe trouble either way. You *must* make absolutely
    sure that the POA cannot communicate with the rest of it's groupwise system.

    > Since 2012 still allows you to configure a POA without having a domain
    > and MTA, I was wondering if one could install the 2012 agents, configure
    > the POA without actually starting the POA, then "fool" 2014 into simply
    > upgrading the POA without requiring the presence of a domain and MTA.


    You can't configure the 2012 POA without real access to the databases,
    and I really don't know what happens when you try to configure a 2012 PO
    Agent with 2014 Databases. On top, while you could later update the raw
    code to 2014, you still wouldn't be able to properly update it to 2014
    (as that again needs configuration, which won't work without the MTA).

    CU,
    --
    Massimo Rosen
    Novell Knowledge Partner
    No emails please!
    http://www.cfc-it.de

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    227

    Re: Is it possible to manually install and configue a POA?

    Quote Originally Posted by mrosen View Post

    There's a distinct difference between "having" a MTA, and actually
    "running" it. You could configure it and the POA, and then simply don't
    run the MTA?!
    Ahhh!
    I hadn't thought about that. You're right, I can let the installation/configuration process run normally and then remove the commands to run the MTA.

    That brings another idea to mind:
    The restored data resides on its own LUN in one of my SAN arrays.

    Prior to upgrading, I set up a test 2014 installation that was stand-alone (no eDir or AD integration).

    Like my test system, I can create a standalone 2014 on this alternate server.
    After setting that up, I can:
    1) Modify the installation to only start the POA and for manual startup.
    2) Attach the LUN with the restored data.
    3) Alter the POA's config file to run against the restored data.

    That will also address the other concerns you raised (alternate POA talking to the "live" system, running 2012 agents against 2014 data).

    I'll try that and report back the results.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    227

    Re: Is it possible to manually install and configue a POA?

    That worked like a charm!

    There are a couple of possible gotcha's:
    If you have the production system only looking to its own LDAP server for authentication, you will have trouble.
    As long as you have multiple LDAP sources set up in your production system, or have the system authenticating to an LDAP service running on a different server, you'll be OK.

    If your production system requires SSL connections to the POA, as opposed to allowing or not using SSL, you will have problems.
    In my case, there were errors tied to SSL settings that reference a certificate and key that did not exist on the alternate server.
    That simply disables the ability to connect securely.
    I suppose you could copy the certs/keys used in the production system and place them in the identical location on the alternate server. I didn't have the POA set to require SSL, so I didn't try.


    This was done on a VM with the LUN for the GroupWise data attached via an HBA in pass-through mode.
    If your alternate system will be fully virtualized, create a separate VMDK file for the restored GW files.
    That allows you to add/remove the file in the VM configuration.

    Process:
    1) Create alternate server, connect LUN/separate vmdk file and restore GW system from backup to that LUN.
    2) Remove the entry for the LUN in /etc/fstab file and shut down the VM
    2) Remove HBA/NIC/vmdk file from from VM's settings and restart the VM
    3) Install new GW 2014 system from scratch
    All I installed was the domain, post office, which also installs and configures their respective agents.
    This works easiest if you change the destination folder for the GW system to something other than the default of /groupwise, especially if you want that to be the mount point of the LUN containing the restored data.
    NOTE: A fresh installation of 2014 puts the .poa file in the post office directory.
    If your production system has the .POA file anywhere else, put a copy of it on the alternate server to use for comparison

    4) Disable the agents automatically starting from within YaST.
    5) shut down the VM, add the HBA/NIC/vmdk file back to its configuration.
    6) Start the VM and use partitioner to mount the LUN with its desired mount point name.
    7) Open a terminal session in /opt/novell/groupwise/agents/bin and start the POA in visible mode: ./gwpoa --show @<name and location of .POA file> &
    At this point, you may get some error codes on the POA console. As long as you avoid the gotcha's listed above, you should be ok.

    You can now point a GroupWise client to the alternate server and access your data.
    My purpose was to restore data for a number of user accounts whose userxxx.db files had been corrupted, deleted and re-created, so that they no longer had any content in their accounts.

    I created a folder on the local drive and changed the settings in the GW client to point to that folder for archiving.
    Next, I archived all the data, including calendar entries, tasks and sent items.
    I also exported the frequent contacts and personal address books to .NAB files.
    Then I shut down the client, opened it again, and directed it to the production system.
    Next, I opened the archive, un-archived all the content and imported the FC and personal address books.

    It was tedious, but it worked fine.

    Unlike the process where you archive a user's content, use FID editor to change the archive identity and un-archive to a different account, this process does not change the read status of opened email to unread
    Last edited by gathagan; 19-Mar-2015 at 09:22 AM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Cologne, Germany
    Posts
    5,682

    Re: Is it possible to manually install and configue a POA?

    Hi.

    Many thanks on the extensive report back. It'll be very useful for others.

    CU,
    Massimo

    On 19.03.2015 09:26, gathagan wrote:
    >
    > That worked like a charm!
    >
    > There are a couple of possible gotcha's:
    > If you have the production system only looking to its own LDAP server
    > for authentication, you will have trouble.
    > As long as you have multiple LDAP sources set up in your production
    > system, or have the system authenticating to an LDAP service running on
    > a different server, you'll be OK.
    >
    > If your production system -requires- SSL connections to the POA, as
    > opposed to allowing or not using SSL, you will have problems.
    > In my case, there were errors tied to SSL settings that reference a
    > certificate and key that did not exist on the alternate server.
    > That simply disables the ability to connect securely.
    > I suppose you could copy the certs/keys used in the production system
    > and place them in the identical location on the alternate server. I
    > didn't have the POA set to require SSL, so I didn't try.
    >
    >
    > This was done on a VM with the LUN for the GroupWise data attached via
    > an HBA in pass-through mode.
    > If your alternate system will be fully virtualized, create a separate
    > VMDK file for the restored GW files.
    > That allows you to add/remove the file in the VM configuration.
    >
    > Process:
    > 1) Create alternate server, connect LUN/separate vmdk file and restore
    > GW system from backup to that LUN.
    > 2) Remove the entry for the LUN in /etc/fstab file and shut down the VM
    > 2) Remove HBA/NIC/vmdk file from from VM's settings and restart the VM
    > 3) Install new GW 2014 system from scratch
    > All I installed was the domain, post office, which also installs and
    > configures their respective agents.
    > This works easiest if you change the destination folder for the GW
    > system to something other than the default of /groupwise, especially if
    > you want that to be the mount point of the LUN containing the restored
    > data.
    > NOTE: A fresh installation of 2014 puts the .poa file in the post office
    > directory.
    > If your production system has the .POA file anywhere else, put a copy of
    > it on the alternate server to use for comparison
    >
    > 4) Disable the agents automatically starting from within YaST.
    > 5) shut down the VM, add the HBA/NIC/vmdk file back to its
    > configuration.
    > 6) Start the VM and use partitioner to mount the LUN with its desired
    > mount point name.
    > 7) Open a terminal session in /opt/novell/groupwise/agents/bin and start
    > the POA in visible mode: -./gwpoa --show @*<name and location of .POA
    > file>* &-
    > At this point, you may get some error codes on the POA console. As long
    > as you avoid the gotcha's listed above, you should be ok.
    >
    > You can now point a GroupWise client to the alternate server and access
    > your data.
    > My purpose was to restore data for a number of user accounts whose
    > userxxx.db files had been corrupted, deleted and re-created, so that
    > they no longer had any content in their accounts.
    >
    > I created a folder on the local drive and changed the settings in the GW
    > client to point to that folder for archiving.
    > Next, I archived all the data, including calendar entries, tasks and
    > sent items.
    > I also exported the frequent contacts and personal address books to .NAB
    > files.
    > Then I shut down the client, opened it again, and directed it to the
    > production system.
    > Next, I opened the archive, un-archived all the content and imported the
    > FC and personal address books.
    >
    > It was tedious, but it worked fine.
    >
    > Unlike the process where you archive a user's content, use FID editor to
    > change the archive identity and un-archive to a different account, this
    > process does not change the read status of opened email to unread
    >
    >



    --
    Massimo Rosen
    Novell Knowledge Partner
    No emails please!
    http://www.cfc-it.de

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •