Home

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: createResource SOAP call

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    6,213

    createResource SOAP call

    I was looking at the Resource service WSDL at the createResourceRequest,
    and I do not see how you specify a Resource container can be specified
    when creating it.

    In the createRoleRequest, there is a line:
    <ser:container>?</ser:container>

    Which seems to be the name of the container. (I hope... Did not test
    yet, might be cn=ContainerName, or just ContainerName).

    But I do not see the same in the WSDL generated by a 4.5 user app. (Did
    not try getting one from a 4.5.2 (if someone has a 4.5.2 resource
    service WSDL handy and can open it in SOAP UI that would be mighty handy
    to confirm if 4.5 vs 4.5.2 matters) yet, but is it possible via SOAP to
    make a Resource in a sub container? If so, how?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    1,304

    Re: createResource SOAP call


    Shared the complete 4.5.2 wsdl with you via Google Drive


    --
    -"Also now available in 'G+'
    (http://plus.google.com/+BenWalter-Kiwi) and 'Website'
    (https://www.isam.kiwi/) format".-
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ScorpionSting's Profile: https://forums.netiq.com/member.php?userid=469
    View this thread: https://forums.netiq.com/showthread.php?t=55171


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    6,213

    Re: createResource SOAP call

    On 1/21/2016 3:54 PM, ScorpionSting wrote:
    >
    > Shared the complete 4.5.2 wsdl with you via Google Drive


    thanks, do not see the <ser:container> node in the createResource call,
    so it looks like there is no fix in 4.5.2, if that is the way it should
    be done.

    So the question stands, is it possible to SOAP createResource and place
    it in a subcontainer.

    Second question arises: Are you allowed to move a Role or Resource
    amongst containers? eDir will let you. What will UA do?


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    1,304

    Re: createResource SOAP call


    I don't see anything in the DB that does a direct relation between
    resource and DN....so I would *expect* that the DN can be dynamically
    moved in the directory without impact....


    --
    -"Also now available in 'G+'
    (http://plus.google.com/+BenWalter-Kiwi) and 'Website'
    (https://www.isam.kiwi/) format".-
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ScorpionSting's Profile: https://forums.netiq.com/member.php?userid=469
    View this thread: https://forums.netiq.com/showthread.php?t=55171


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    1,304

    Re: createResource SOAP call


    Dropped the SP3 WSDL into Google Drive for you


    --
    -"Also now available in 'G+'
    (http://plus.google.com/+BenWalter-Kiwi) and 'Website'
    (https://www.isam.kiwi/) format".-
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ScorpionSting's Profile: https://forums.netiq.com/member.php?userid=469
    View this thread: https://forums.netiq.com/showthread.php?t=55171


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    6,213

    Re: createResource SOAP call

    On 1/31/2016 3:24 PM, ScorpionSting wrote:
    >
    > Dropped the SP3 WSDL into Google Drive for you


    Saw that, was flying today, will check later. Got it as i was boarding
    a flight. Thanks.


  7. #7
    Steven Williams NNTP User

    Re: createResource SOAP call

    On 2/1/16 12:17 AM, Geoffrey Carman wrote:
    > On 1/31/2016 3:24 PM, ScorpionSting wrote:
    >>
    >> Dropped the SP3 WSDL into Google Drive for you

    >
    > Saw that, was flying today, will check later. Got it as i was boarding
    > a flight. Thanks.
    >

    Greetings Geoffrey,
    I was told you opened a Service Request for this. Here answer to
    your question:

    =========
    The design of Resource is different then that of Roles. Therefore, when
    you are creating a Resource via SOAP the property “entityKey” contains
    the full path/DN to where this Resource will be created (which includes
    the sub-container). It is “true” that the createResource does not have
    a “container” property. That is because it does not need it.

    1. In Designer create a new Resource sub-container named “Support” and
    then deploy it

    2. In SoapUI in the createResource (clone of it) you would specify the
    full DN of this new resource in the entityKey parameter (For Example:
    <ser:entityKey>cn=soap-test-container,cn=Support,cn=ResourceDefs,cn=RoleConfig ,cn=AppConfig,cn=User
    Application Driver,cn=driverset1,o=system</ser:entityKey>

    3. Execute in SoapUI.



    Here is an createResource xml from my soapUI project that works:

    <soapenv:Envelope
    xmlns:soapenv="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/envelope/"
    xmlns:ser="http://www.novell.com/resource/service">
    <soapenv:Header/>
    <soapenv:Body>
    <ser:createResourceRequest>
    <!--Optional:-->
    <ser:resource>
    <ser:active>true</ser:active>
    <ser:allowOverride>false</ser:allowOverride>
    <ser:allowedMulty>true</ser:allowedMulty>
    <ser:description>soap test resource container</ser:description>
    <ser:entitlementRef>
    <!--Zero or more repetitions:-->
    </ser:entitlementRef>

    <ser:entityKey>cn=soap-test-container,cn=Support,cn=ResourceDefs,cn=RoleConfig ,cn=AppConfig,cn=User
    Application Driver,cn=driverset1,o=system</ser:entityKey>
    <ser:grantApprovers/>
    <ser:grantQuorum/>
    <ser:grantRequestDef/>
    <ser:name>soap test container</ser:name>
    <serwners>
    <!--Zero or more repetitions:-->
    <ser:dnstring>
    <ser:dn>cn=lab,ou=users,o=data</ser:dn>
    </ser:dnstring>
    </serwners>
    <serarameters/>
    <serrovisioningRequestDef/>
    <ser:resourceCategoryKeys>
    <!--Zero or more repetitions:-->
    <ser:categorykey>
    <ser:categoryKey>default</ser:categoryKey>
    </ser:categorykey>
    </ser:resourceCategoryKeys>
    <ser:revokeApprovers/>
    <ser:revokeQuorum/>
    <ser:revokeRequestDef/>
    </ser:resource>
    </ser:createResourceRequest>
    </soapenv:Body>
    </soapenv:Envelope>
    ===============

    I hope this clarifies and answers your question.


    --
    Sincerely,
    Steven Williams
    Lead Software Engineer
    Micro Focus

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    6,213

    Re: createResource SOAP call

    On 2/2/2016 5:32 AM, Steven Williams wrote:
    > On 2/1/16 12:17 AM, Geoffrey Carman wrote:
    >> On 1/31/2016 3:24 PM, ScorpionSting wrote:
    >>>
    >>> Dropped the SP3 WSDL into Google Drive for you

    >>
    >> Saw that, was flying today, will check later. Got it as i was boarding
    >> a flight. Thanks.
    >>

    > Greetings Geoffrey,
    > I was told you opened a Service Request for this. Here answer to
    > your question:
    >
    > =========
    > The design of Resource is different then that of Roles. Therefore, when
    > you are creating a Resource via SOAP the property “entityKey” contains
    > the full path/DN to where this Resource will be created (which includes
    > the sub-container). It is “true” that the createResource does not have
    > a “container” property. That is because it does not need it.
    >
    > 1. In Designer create a new Resource sub-container named “Support” and
    > then deploy it
    >
    > 2. In SoapUI in the createResource (clone of it) you would specify the
    > full DN of this new resource in the entityKey parameter (For Example:
    > <ser:entityKey>cn=soap-test-container,cn=Support,cn=ResourceDefs,cn=RoleConfig ,cn=AppConfig,cn=User
    > Application Driver,cn=driverset1,o=system</ser:entityKey>
    >
    > 3. Execute in SoapUI.
    >
    >
    >
    > Here is an createResource xml from my soapUI project that works:
    >
    > <soapenv:Envelope
    > xmlns:soapenv="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/envelope/"
    > xmlns:ser="http://www.novell.com/resource/service">
    > <soapenv:Header/>
    > <soapenv:Body>
    > <ser:createResourceRequest>
    > <!--Optional:-->
    > <ser:resource>
    > <ser:active>true</ser:active>
    > <ser:allowOverride>false</ser:allowOverride>
    > <ser:allowedMulty>true</ser:allowedMulty>
    > <ser:description>soap test resource
    > container</ser:description>
    > <ser:entitlementRef>
    > <!--Zero or more repetitions:-->
    > </ser:entitlementRef>
    >
    > <ser:entityKey>cn=soap-test-container,cn=Support,cn=ResourceDefs,cn=RoleConfig ,cn=AppConfig,cn=User
    > Application Driver,cn=driverset1,o=system</ser:entityKey>
    > <ser:grantApprovers/>
    > <ser:grantQuorum/>
    > <ser:grantRequestDef/>
    > <ser:name>soap test container</ser:name>
    > <serwners>
    > <!--Zero or more repetitions:-->
    > <ser:dnstring>
    > <ser:dn>cn=lab,ou=users,o=data</ser:dn>
    > </ser:dnstring>
    > </serwners>
    > <serarameters/>
    > <serrovisioningRequestDef/>
    > <ser:resourceCategoryKeys>
    > <!--Zero or more repetitions:-->
    > <ser:categorykey>
    > <ser:categoryKey>default</ser:categoryKey>
    > </ser:categorykey>
    > </ser:resourceCategoryKeys>
    > <ser:revokeApprovers/>
    > <ser:revokeQuorum/>
    > <ser:revokeRequestDef/>
    > </ser:resource>
    > </ser:createResourceRequest>
    > </soapenv:Body>
    > </soapenv:Envelope>
    > ===============
    >
    > I hope this clarifies and answers your question.


    Thanks! That is actually NOT the answer I got in the SR, I was told it
    was a bug to be fixed later. This is a much better answr, thank you.

    Is there a good doc that explains what each field in the SOAP call is
    meant to be used for?

    For example, what is <serarameters> used for? What is the difference
    between the <ser:entitlementRef> node vs the seemingly similar options
    in the <serarameters> node in the WSDL?



  9. #9
    Steven Williams NNTP User

    Re: createResource SOAP call

    On 2/2/16 6:11 AM, Geoffrey Carman wrote:
    > On 2/2/2016 5:32 AM, Steven Williams wrote:
    >> On 2/1/16 12:17 AM, Geoffrey Carman wrote:
    >>> On 1/31/2016 3:24 PM, ScorpionSting wrote:
    >>>>
    >>>> Dropped the SP3 WSDL into Google Drive for you
    >>>
    >>> Saw that, was flying today, will check later. Got it as i was boarding
    >>> a flight. Thanks.
    >>>

    >> Greetings Geoffrey,
    >> I was told you opened a Service Request for this. Here answer to
    >> your question:
    >>
    >> =========
    >> The design of Resource is different then that of Roles. Therefore, when
    >> you are creating a Resource via SOAP the property “entityKey” contains
    >> the full path/DN to where this Resource will be created (which includes
    >> the sub-container). It is “true” that the createResource does not have
    >> a “container” property. That is because it does not need it.
    >>
    >> 1. In Designer create a new Resource sub-container named “Support” and
    >> then deploy it
    >>
    >> 2. In SoapUI in the createResource (clone of it) you would specify the
    >> full DN of this new resource in the entityKey parameter (For Example:
    >> <ser:entityKey>cn=soap-test-container,cn=Support,cn=ResourceDefs,cn=RoleConfig ,cn=AppConfig,cn=User
    >>
    >> Application Driver,cn=driverset1,o=system</ser:entityKey>
    >>
    >> 3. Execute in SoapUI.
    >>
    >>
    >>
    >> Here is an createResource xml from my soapUI project that works:
    >>
    >> <soapenv:Envelope
    >> xmlns:soapenv="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/envelope/"
    >> xmlns:ser="http://www.novell.com/resource/service">
    >> <soapenv:Header/>
    >> <soapenv:Body>
    >> <ser:createResourceRequest>
    >> <!--Optional:-->
    >> <ser:resource>
    >> <ser:active>true</ser:active>
    >> <ser:allowOverride>false</ser:allowOverride>
    >> <ser:allowedMulty>true</ser:allowedMulty>
    >> <ser:description>soap test resource
    >> container</ser:description>
    >> <ser:entitlementRef>
    >> <!--Zero or more repetitions:-->
    >> </ser:entitlementRef>
    >>
    >> <ser:entityKey>cn=soap-test-container,cn=Support,cn=ResourceDefs,cn=RoleConfig ,cn=AppConfig,cn=User
    >>
    >> Application Driver,cn=driverset1,o=system</ser:entityKey>
    >> <ser:grantApprovers/>
    >> <ser:grantQuorum/>
    >> <ser:grantRequestDef/>
    >> <ser:name>soap test container</ser:name>
    >> <serwners>
    >> <!--Zero or more repetitions:-->
    >> <ser:dnstring>
    >> <ser:dn>cn=lab,ou=users,o=data</ser:dn>
    >> </ser:dnstring>
    >> </serwners>
    >> <serarameters/>
    >> <serrovisioningRequestDef/>
    >> <ser:resourceCategoryKeys>
    >> <!--Zero or more repetitions:-->
    >> <ser:categorykey>
    >> <ser:categoryKey>default</ser:categoryKey>
    >> </ser:categorykey>
    >> </ser:resourceCategoryKeys>
    >> <ser:revokeApprovers/>
    >> <ser:revokeQuorum/>
    >> <ser:revokeRequestDef/>
    >> </ser:resource>
    >> </ser:createResourceRequest>
    >> </soapenv:Body>
    >> </soapenv:Envelope>
    >> ===============
    >>
    >> I hope this clarifies and answers your question.

    >
    > Thanks! That is actually NOT the answer I got in the SR, I was told it
    > was a bug to be fixed later. This is a much better answr, thank you.
    >
    > Is there a good doc that explains what each field in the SOAP call is
    > meant to be used for?
    >
    > For example, what is <serarameters> used for? What is the difference
    > between the <ser:entitlementRef> node vs the seemingly similar options
    > in the <serarameters> node in the WSDL?
    >
    >

    Greetings Geoffrey,
    In the past, I have provided feedback for what the different
    parameters are for. Not sure if my doc is still around any more or not.
    A Resource can have request parameters (These are on the Request
    Form tab when looking at a Resource in the User Application (IDMProv).
    They are different then the entitlement and the value it can have.


    --
    Sincerely,
    Steven Williams
    Lead Software Engineer
    Micro Focus

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    6,213

    Re: createResource SOAP call

    > In the past, I have provided feedback for what the different
    > parameters are for. Not sure if my doc is still around any more or not.


    Would love to see that document. I would be glad to contribute
    information/content to it, from an enduser perspective if you wanted to
    "wiki-ize" it.

    > A Resource can have request parameters (These are on the Request
    > Form tab when looking at a Resource in the User Application (IDMProv).
    > They are different then the entitlement and the value it can have.


    As usual, examples would be really nice. (See request for doc above. )

    How would you move a Resource after it was created? Is it sufficient to
    just move it via LDAP/eDir? In the directory, all references are by DN.
    If the DB references objects, one imagines you use the eDir GUID on
    the object, which would not change on a move.


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •