Home

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Patches not appearing for devices

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    9

    Patches not appearing for devices

    We are having problems getting Patch Management started. Description of the problem can be found here:

    https://forums.novell.com/showthread...02#post2481902

    Information requested by CRAIGDWILSON:

    #2

    • Current ZCM Version: 17.0.0.0 (only 1 primary, no satellites...same problem exists if upgraded to 2017 Update 2a as well).
    • It was not upgraded from a previous version, it was installed fresh.
    • The OS is SLES 12 SP 2.
    • The database is the embedded Sybase.



    #3

    The core issue is that after creating patch policies and applying patch policy to a device, no patches appear for the device, though the device is out of date with software (for example, LibreOffice). We are getting an error message in Patch Management -> Dashboard -> Patches which says "Failed to download subscription". We have not entered any information in the "Patch Subscription Credentials" area of Configuration -> Patch Management -> Subscription Service Settings (not sure if that matters). As of right now, there is only one Workstation registered with Zenworks, though we have tried as many as three different machines, all without success. The one machine currently registered is a Windows 7 32 bit machine.

    #4

    I will set the server to Debug and collect the logs after this post and then re-run the Subscription Service

    #5

    The Zenworks server has a direct path through the network Firewall (no proxy set) and can reach the Internet (including loading various websites) otherwise.

    #6

    The ZPM License is Valid and does not expire until 2019.


    Thank you so much for any help or direction you can provide, it is greatly appreciated! I will be sending you a PM with the information requested in #1. Thanks again!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    6,658

    Re: Patches not appearing for devices

    I will ask you to upload the logs once collected....will say where in an email....
    Also can you confirm that the ZCC shows the license as valid.....I know you said its valid...but important that ZCC reads it properly.....now and then there can be issues where a license is not read properly and does not show properly in the ZCC.

    May not look much until next week....as I'm travelling this week...........
    --
    Any Opinions, Thoughts, Solutions, or Blog Entries are my own and may or may not be shared by Micro Focus or any Sane Person
    Please Use at your Own Risk.

    Blog - https://forums.novell.com/blog.php/5830-CRAIGDWILSON

    https://ideas.microfocus.com/mfi/novell-zcm

    Want to Turbo charge your apps and put an end to compatability issues?
    https://www.microfocus.com/products/...top-containers

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    9

    Re: Patches not appearing for devices

    First of all, thank you for the quick response.

    When I go to Configuration -> Product Licensing -> Zenworks 2017 Patch Management, here is what I see :

    Description Status Serial Number Vendor Expiration Purchased
    ZENworks Patch Management Valid "Serial Number" Novell 7/31/19 12:00 AM 890

    If there is some place else I need to check, I can do so.

    No problem on the next week thing, we just appreciate any help at all.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    9

    Re: Patches not appearing for devices

    I tried to send this in a PM, but apparently the PM box is full:

    I'm trying to grab the logs, but after running the zeninfocollect.py script, and after hitting the "Update Now" button found at Configuration -> Patch Management -> Subscription Service Settings, I still do not have the rdy.txt, pkglist.txt or log.txt files in the %ZENWORKS_HOME%/zpm/ directory. Perhaps I am doing something incorrectly or incompletely?

    I do have the loader-messages.log and the catalina.out files. Should I wait to upload those until I can get the three files I am not currently seeing?

    Also, in the loader-messages.log, I am seeing this:

    Code:
    [TRACE] [06/06/2018 09:43:06.153] [1685] [ZENLoader] [182] [] [Loader.PatchSubscriptionService] [] [PatchSubscription: Failed get content ] [] [] [] [ZENServer]
    [TRACE] [06/06/2018 09:43:06.153] [1685] [ZENLoader] [182] [] [Loader.PatchSubscriptionService] [] [java.io.FileNotFoundException: /var/opt/novell/zenworks/content-repo/content/importData/6784eb02afdb049417fbe66e91ba7725.import (Permission denied)
    As I said in the other poster's thread, I followed the instructions to change the location of the content-repo (our Zenworks is virtualized in ESXi and we added an old disk to this install which already had our images on it...and I have no idea why I didn't think to mention that like I should have). Even though I followed the instructions, including the command to change ownership of the directory to zenworks:zenworks, I noticed that the owner of the "content" directory in the "content-repo" directory was casaatsd:zenworks. I ran the chown command and made sure zenworks:zenworks is the owner of all the directories in the content-repo. This fixed the "Failed to download subscription" error. However, I still am not seeing any patches and it has been a couple of hours since I made the change in ownership and clicked the "Update Now" button. I have not created any new patch policies since changing ownership.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    6,658

    Re: Patches not appearing for devices

    Nice Work Brad!!

    What you will need to do is run a "DAU" Scan on your devices to discover which patches are needed by which devices.
    After that is done....then you will start seeing patches.
    By Default, ZCM will only download patches that are needed by devices in your system.

    Now that your subscription is downloading, you should have a good "Discover Applicable Updates" bundle that can run on your devices to check for needed patches.
    This bundle is generally updated every evening (or darn close) to contain the details about new patch info.

    Once devices run this....upload their scan results.....the next time ZCM does a subscription update it will grab patches reported as being needed.
    --
    Any Opinions, Thoughts, Solutions, or Blog Entries are my own and may or may not be shared by Micro Focus or any Sane Person
    Please Use at your Own Risk.

    Blog - https://forums.novell.com/blog.php/5830-CRAIGDWILSON

    https://ideas.microfocus.com/mfi/novell-zcm

    Want to Turbo charge your apps and put an end to compatability issues?
    https://www.microfocus.com/products/...top-containers

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    6,658

    Re: Patches not appearing for devices

    Note: There are two scripts you can run on Linux.....
    /opt/novell/zenworks/bin/permissions.sh and /opt/novell/zenworks/bin/core-permissions.sh

    These will go through and Fix MOST ownership and permission issues..........
    --
    Any Opinions, Thoughts, Solutions, or Blog Entries are my own and may or may not be shared by Micro Focus or any Sane Person
    Please Use at your Own Risk.

    Blog - https://forums.novell.com/blog.php/5830-CRAIGDWILSON

    https://ideas.microfocus.com/mfi/novell-zcm

    Want to Turbo charge your apps and put an end to compatability issues?
    https://www.microfocus.com/products/...top-containers

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    9

    Re: Patches not appearing for devices

    Quote Originally Posted by CRAIGDWILSON View Post
    Nice Work Brad!!

    What you will need to do is run a "DAU" Scan on your devices to discover which patches are needed by which devices.
    After that is done....then you will start seeing patches.
    By Default, ZCM will only download patches that are needed by devices in your system.

    Now that your subscription is downloading, you should have a good "Discover Applicable Updates" bundle that can run on your devices to check for needed patches.
    This bundle is generally updated every evening (or darn close) to contain the details about new patch info.

    Once devices run this....upload their scan results.....the next time ZCM does a subscription update it will grab patches reported as being needed.
    Hey Craig, thanks for the information. Sorry it's taken a while to get back to this, but it's just been crazy at work.

    I did see the DAU bundle, which is new since the fix mentioned in my last post, however I'm still not seeing patches. Do I have to run the DAU bundle manually and, if so, how?

    I am getting this error message (several times) on the device now, which I did not get before:

    Code:
    There is an error in cached information for id Discover Applicable Updates Windows-x86-en-WIN7sp1 The content is not yet available to download.
    Additionally, when I go into the Devices -> Relationships screen, it says the Deployment Status is "Failure" on the "Discover Applicable Updates Windows-x86-en-WIN7sp1" assigned bundle. The "Probable Cause" in the "Details" is the same message as above.


    I've made sure the time on the server was correct, as I saw that was something recommended in another (older thread). Is the error above why I'm not seeing patches? Or is there something else our school needs to do that we're not yet doing?

    Again, I appreciate any and help!
    Quote Originally Posted by CRAIGDWILSON View Post
    Note: There are two scripts you can run on Linux.....
    /opt/novell/zenworks/bin/permissions.sh and /opt/novell/zenworks/bin/core-permissions.sh

    These will go through and Fix MOST ownership and permission issues..........
    I ran the first script, but the second script wanted me to use an option with it and I couldn't figure out what I needed to do.
    Last edited by bradshawc; 13-Jun-2018 at 04:00 AM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    6,658

    Re: Patches not appearing for devices

    How Many Primary Servers in your Zone?
    Do you have Satellite Servers that act as Content Servers?

    I'm wondering if your devices are only pointing to Sats for Content and the Content for the DAU Bundle is not replicating to your Satellite Servers when the agents try and run it.
    Clearly your devices are trying....but failing....
    --
    Any Opinions, Thoughts, Solutions, or Blog Entries are my own and may or may not be shared by Micro Focus or any Sane Person
    Please Use at your Own Risk.

    Blog - https://forums.novell.com/blog.php/5830-CRAIGDWILSON

    https://ideas.microfocus.com/mfi/novell-zcm

    Want to Turbo charge your apps and put an end to compatability issues?
    https://www.microfocus.com/products/...top-containers

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    9

    Re: Patches not appearing for devices

    Quote Originally Posted by CRAIGDWILSON View Post
    How Many Primary Servers in your Zone?
    Do you have Satellite Servers that act as Content Servers?

    I'm wondering if your devices are only pointing to Sats for Content and the Content for the DAU Bundle is not replicating to your Satellite Servers when the agents try and run it.
    Clearly your devices are trying....but failing....
    1 Primary only, no satellite servers.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    6,658

    Re: Patches not appearing for devices

    What is the Current Version of ZCM?
    There are some known "Content" bugs in 17.0 and 17.1 that could cause this issue.
    Fixed in Update 2.

    Some patches may exist for older versions....if i knew the exact current version.
    Keep in mind...we are on to a 2nd issues....so the original comment about it happening in 17.2 as well would not apply.
    --
    Any Opinions, Thoughts, Solutions, or Blog Entries are my own and may or may not be shared by Micro Focus or any Sane Person
    Please Use at your Own Risk.

    Blog - https://forums.novell.com/blog.php/5830-CRAIGDWILSON

    https://ideas.microfocus.com/mfi/novell-zcm

    Want to Turbo charge your apps and put an end to compatability issues?
    https://www.microfocus.com/products/...top-containers

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •